E.A. Danby Award


Recognizing Outstanding Performance & Innovative Practices

The late E.A. Danby was AMCTO’s inaugural President. Mr. Danby demonstrated his vision and innovative spirit when he set out to establish AMCTO over 75 years ago. The E.A. Danby Award recognizes that same spirit of vision, and innovation for Ontario municipalities.

The award is presented annually to one or more municipalities that demonstrate an initiative or a willingness to explore innovative techniques that produce tangible results related to the efficiency and effectiveness of the municipal corporation.

The E.A. Danby Award is a tiered awards program based on size of municipality. Awards are granted to municipalities with populations less than 20,000 and those with larger populations. The E.A. Danby Award focuses on initiatives that fall within the broad categories of finance, administration and implementation of legislation.

Learn about our 2020-2021 Award recipients here.

The Award

Recipient of an E.A. Danby Award has tremendous opportunities to:

  • Be recognized and acknowledged for their commitment to performance improvement;

  • Enhance their image as an attractive community in which to live and work;

  • Demonstrate to their residents the valuable work that is being done on their behalf; and

  • Share their innovative ideas to benefit the entire municipal sector in Ontario.