July 2019
Prototype Regions for New Employment Services Announced

2019-07-04 9:38:04 AM

On Tuesday the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU) announced three regions that will act as prototypes for a new service delivery model for employment and training services as part of Social Assistance Reform.

This new model will combine employment-related functions of Ontario Works and the Ontario Disability Support Program with Employment Ontario forming a single employment and training services system.

The prototype regions are the Region of Peel, Hamilton-Niagara (including Hamilton, Brant, Haldimand-Norfolk and Niagara), and Muskoka-Kawarthas (including Muskoka, Haliburton, Kawartha Lakes, Peterborough and Northumerland).

This new system will be implemented across the province in 2022.  

Organizations in one of the three prototype regions who are interested in serving as an employment service system manager must apply through a competitive process in the Ontario Tenders Portal here. The deadline for Request for Qualifications submissions is July 23, 2019, which is to be followed by a call for proposals. According to the Association of Municipalities Ontario, local governments are eligible to apply but do not have a “right of first refusal and will need to compete with other interested organizations in the area.”

For more information, please see below:

Ontario News: Ontario Builds Skilled Workforce with Strengthened Employment Services

AMO: New Employment Services Prototype Regions Announced


Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.