2023 AMCTO Awards Program

2023-04-06 9:52:00 AM

Nominations extended to Friday, April 21st

We know there is lots of great work being done by you, our members, and municipal professionals across the province every day – our annual awards program is your chance to recognize an exceptional person or project that has (and continues to) affect our sector for the better! Please note that the nomination deadline has now been extended to Friday, April 21st at 5:00 PM ET.

All 2023 award recipients will be honoured on Tuesday, June 13th at our Awards Gala Dinner as part of our 85th annual conference taking place in-person at the Niagara Fallsview Resort & Casino. See our 2023 Conference Registration Guide for details.

E.A. Danby Awards

Named in honour of AMCTO’s first President, the E.A. Danby Awards are presented annually to municipalities that demonstrate, through a specific initiative, a willingness to explore innovative techniques. Recipients must be able to demonstrate the tangible results of these efforts as they impact the efficiency and effectiveness of the municipal corporation. The E.A. Danby Awards focus on initiatives that fall within the following categories: Municipal Finance, Municipal Administration, and Implementation of Legislation.

This is a tiered awards program based on the size of municipality, with awards granted to municipalities with populations less than 20,000 or 20,000 and greater.

Receiving an E.A. Danby Award provides your municipality with opportunities to:
  • Be recognized and acknowledged for your commitment to performance improvement;
  • Enhance your image as an attractive community to live and work;
  • Demonstrate to residents the valuable work that is being done on their behalf; and
  • Share your innovative ideas to benefit the entire municipal sector
Application deadline: Friday, April 21st at 5:00 PM ET.

AMCTO Prestige Award

The Prestige Award is presented to an AMCTO member, past or present, who has been nominated by his or her peers. This award recognizes an individual’s commitment to the ideals of the Association and the contributions they’ve made to both the Association and the municipal profession.

To be selected for the Prestige Award an individual must:
  • Be nominated by a least three AMCTO members in good standing;
  • Have contributed in a significant way, on an ongoing basis, to AMCTO and to the improvement of municipal management and leadership in Ontario;
  • Currently be, or have been, an AMCTO member in good standing (for no less than ten years) and;
  • Not have served as a member of the AMCTO Board of Directors within the previous five years.
Application deadline: Friday, April 21st at 5:00 PM ET.

All award applications will be reviewed and evaluated by the AMCTO Awards Committee following the submission deadline. Award recipients/nominators will be notified by e-mail of their successful application in advance of the conference. 

For more information or questions about this year’s program, please contact:

David Arbuckle, MPA
Executive Director