AMCTO Announces 2020-2021 Award Recipients

2021-06-21 9:27:59 AM

Monday, June 21, 2021 – Mississauga, ON – The Association of Municipal Managers, Clerks and Treasurers of Ontario (AMCTO) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2020-2021 AMCTO Awards program. Award recipients were honoured during the AMCTO 83rd Annual General Meeting and Professional Development Institute that took place virtually last week from Monday, June 14th – Wednesday, June 16th, 2021. Joined by family and friends and their municipal peers, participants were recognized for their outstanding achievements.
“This year’s award recipients have demonstrated dedication, hard work and commitment to the municipal sector, continuous learning and professional development through their involvement in AMCTO education courses, Zone activities and community-focused initiatives,” says AMCTO Executive Director, David Arbuckle. “On behalf of AMCTO, we are proud to honour these members and municipal professionals that are committed to moving the profession forward in a positive way.”
Award recipients include:
E.A. Danby Awards
Named after AMCTO's inaugural President, the E.A. Danby Awards recognize and honour municipalities that have demonstrated outstanding achievement through innovation with respect to municipal management activities or practices. The E.A. Danby Awards focus on the three broad categories of municipal finance, municipal administration and the implementation of legislation, across municipalities of greater than 20,000 residents, and less than 20,000 residents. Recipients of this award have demonstrated tangible results related to the efficiency and effectiveness of the municipal corporation.
Municipalities of 20,000 or more:
The City of Guelph
Category: Municipal Finance
Project: Tax certificates online
The County of Renfrew
Category: Municipal Administration
Project: Renfrew County Virtual Triage and Assessment Centre (RC-VTAC)
The City of Ottawa with Cities of Cambridge, Windsor and the Town of Pelham
Category: Implementation of Legislation
Project: 2020 By-Elections
Certificates of Merit:
The City of Vaughan
Category: Municipal Administration
Project: Winter Maintenance Artificial Intelligence System
The City of Oshawa
Category: Implementation of Legislation
Project: AMPlify Compliance and Safety
Municipalities of 20,000 or less:
Municipality of Thames Centre
Category: Municipal Administration
Project: Municipal Modernization App
Prestige Award
AMCTO presents the Prestige Award annually to a current or past AMCTO member who has contributed on an ongoing basis to the activities and objectives of the Association and to other endeavours which raise the profile of municipal professionals in the community. Leading by example, the Prestige Award recipient is someone who has given freely of their time and expertise and who, through their efforts, has enriched AMCTO and the municipal profession.
2021 Recipient:
Karen Landry
Clerk, Town of Orangeville
Honourary Lifetime Members
Honourary lifetime memberships are granted to individuals who have maintained active membership with the Association for 50 years. This milestone is a true achievement and testament to these individual’s commitment to AMCTO and to the Ontario municipal sector. Lifetime members are recognized each year through this award and recipients receive a free membership for life with the Association.
2020-2021 Recipients:
Andre Barrette
Jim McQueen
Robert Rantz
Terry Julian
Tom Monahan
Academic Awards
AMCTO academic awards recognize the academic achievements of students in AMCTO education programs.
Award for Excellence in Human Resources (HR) Program – sponsored by Cunningham Swan Lawyers
Deborah Edoo, Dipl. M.A.
Secretary-Treasurer, Committee of Adjustment and Consent, Town of Milton
Tim J. Brubacher, Dipl. M.A., AMP
Council/Committee Support Specialist, Regional Municipality of Waterloo
Julia Ricottone
Policy and Training Coordinator, City of Hamilton
Rebecca Marie Vandenberk, Dipl. M.A.
Executive Assistant, Corporate Services, Town of Plympton-Wyoming
Award for Excellence in Municipal Accounting & Finance Program (MAFP) – sponsored by Watson & Associate Economists Ltd.
Lauren Lindstone
Award for Excellence in Municipal Law Program (MLP) – sponsored by Thomson Rogers Lawyers
Sarah Johnson, Dipl. M.A., AMP
Junior Deputy Clerk, Municipality of Brockton
Dr. C. Richard Tindal Award for Excellence in Municipal Administration Program (MAP)
Naomi Thibault
Emergency Planning and Research Assistant, City of Sault Ste. Marie
Award for Excellence in Executive Diploma, Municipal Management (EDMM) Program
Becky Lala, Dipl. M.M.
Manager, Social Assistance Services, City of Brantford
Joel Watts, Dipl. M.M.
Deputy Clerk, Legislative Services, City of Kawartha Lakes
Award for Excellence in Diploma, Municipal Administration Program
Alvin Chan, Dipl. M.A.
Manager, Legislative Approvals/Staging of Development, City of Hamilton
Zone Awards
AMCTO Zone Awards recognize at the discretion of each AMCTO Zone Executive, the efforts of those who have made significant contributions at a local level towards the success of their respective Zones or to the advancement of the municipal profession.
Zone 2
Alison Gray, CMO, AOMC
Clerk, Township of Severn
Zone 3
Suzanne Jones
Clerk (Retired), Town of Halton Hills
Zone 5
Robin van de Moosdyk, CMO, AOMC, CMIII
Chief Administrative Officer (Retired), Hamilton Township and Alnwick/Haldimand Township
Zone 6
Brenda Brunt, CMO
Director of Corporate Services/Clerk/Marriage Commissioner, Municipality of South Dundas
Zone 7
Charles Barton
Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk (Retired), Township of Nippissing
Zone 9
Paulette Covell
Deputy Clerk/Treasurer (Retired), Township of Ear Falls
“We could not be prouder of this year’s award recipients who continue to raise the bar for excellence within the municipal sector,” says AMCTO 2020-2021 President, Robert Tremblay, “On behalf of the Board, congratulations to all of this year’s award recipients and best wishes toward all of your future endeavours.”
Award recipients will also be recognized in the upcoming edition of the AMCTO Municipal Monitor magazine in a special awards section. Municipal councils are encouraged to share this announcement and celebrate the successes of their staff.
For more information about the AMCTO Awards program or for media inquiries, please contact:
Jacquelyn Folville
Manager – Communications & Marketing, AMCTO
David Arbuckle, MPA
Executive Director, AMCTO
About the Awards
AMCTO is committed to promoting and encouraging continuous improvement and the pursuit of excellence in the municipal profession. AMCTO recognizes the achievements of members and other municipal professionals through an annual awards program where dedication, hard work and commitment to the municipal sector, continuous learning and professional development is celebrated.
The Association of Municipal Managers, Clerks and Treasurers of Ontario (AMCTO) represents excellence in local government, management and leadership. Over the past 80 years, AMCTO has provided education, accreditation, leadership, and management expertise for Ontario municipal professionals. With 2,000+ members working in municipalities across the province, AMCTO is Ontario’s largest association of local government professionals, and the leading professional development organization for municipal professionals.
Known as 'The Municipal Experts', AMCTO offers a breadth of expertise and knowledge through year-round education and professional development programming, and through its members across a range of municipal operation areas and legislative issues. AMCTO is recognized as an influential voice for local government professionals regarding key management and legislative issues affecting the sector. The Association continues to grow and to search out new opportunities to provide municipal professionals with the tools they need to succeed in today's continually evolving municipal environment.