2024 Awards Program: Nominations Now Open

Date Published

As an Association, we are committed to promoting and encouraging continuous improvement and the pursuit of excellence in the municipal profession. We recognize the achievements of members and other municipal professionals through our annual awards program where dedication, hard work, commitment to the municipal sector, continuous learning, and professional development are celebrated.

Nominations are now open for our 2024 Awards Program — members and municipal staff are encouraged to nominate an exceptional person or project to be recognized at our 2024 Awards Gala Dinner on Tuesday, June 11 held in conjunction with our 2024 conference.

Receiving an AMCTO Award provides members and municipalities with opportunities to:

  • Be recognized by their peers in the sector
  • Be recognized for their commitment to the Association, to municipal innovation and performance improvement, continuous learning, and professional development
  • Build their reputation as a trusted municipal and community leader
  • Enhance their municipality's image as an attractive community to live and work
  • Demonstrate to their residents the valuable work that is being done on their behalf
  • Share innovative ideas to benefit fellow AMCTO members and the broader municipal community

E.A. Danby Awards
Recognizing Outstanding Performance & Innovative Practices

The late E.A. Danby was AMCTO’s inaugural president. Mr. Danby demonstrated his vision and innovative spirit when he set out to establish AMCTO 85 years ago. The E.A. Danby Awards recognize that same spirit of vision, and innovation for Ontario municipalities.
The E.A. Danby Awards are presented annually to one or more municipalities that demonstrate an initiative or a willingness to explore innovative techniques that produce tangible results related to the efficiency and effectiveness of the municipal corporation. The E.A. Danby Awards focus on initiatives that fall within the broad categories of municipal finance, administration, and the implementation of legislation.

Learn More & Submit a Nomination

Prestige Award
Recognizing Contributions to the Association & the Sector

The Prestige Award is presented to an AMCTO member (past or present) each year who exemplifies and is committed to the ideals of the Association and whose contributions have made a positive impact on the Association, fellow members and municipal professionals, and their community.

Learn More & Submit a Nomination

Zone Awards
Recognizing Commitments to Communities

AMCTO Zone Awards are presented annually to AMCTO members (past or present) belonging to each of our nine Zones, who have been nominated by peers on their respective Zone Executive. These awards recognize an individual’s commitment to the activities of their Zone or to the advancement of the municipal profession within their local community.

Learn More & Submit a Nomination

The deadline to submit nominations for all Awards is Tuesday, April 2 at 5:00pm ET.

All award nominations will be reviewed and evaluated by the AMCTO Awards Committee following the submission deadline (Tuesday, April 2, 2024). Only those individuals whose submissions are deemed successful by the AMCTO Awards Committee will be contacted following the nomination deadline. We thank everyone in advance for their interest and for submitting a nomination.

For more information about this year's Awards Program, please contact us.

For more information and to register for the conference and/or purchase Awards Gala tickets, see details on our website.